Marijuana Laws By State

As of this writing, the majority of states and the District of Columbia have legalized marijuana in some form. Some (currently, 9 states) now allow recreational use and possession. While the vast majority of states allow limited medical marijuana use including cannabis-infused remedies such as oils, other states have stricter laws that allow possession only for select and rare medical conditions. Some states have also decriminalized the possession of small amounts of marijuana.

What States is Weed Legal in?

At the federal level, marijuana remains classified as a Schedule I substance under the Controlled Substances Act. Schedule I substances are thought to have a high potential for dependency and no accepted medical use. This makes distribution of marijuana a federal offense. However, the US Department of Justice announced in 2013 an update to its marijuana enforcement policy. Thus, states where marijuana is now legal (Colorado, Washington, California and others) are expected to create “strong, state-based enforcement efforts” – effectively taking the federal government out of the enforcement picture in those states.

The following is a list of state regulations regarding marijuana possession and use:

  1. Alabama: no broad legalization laws
  2. Alaska: legalized for medical and recreational use
  3. Arizona: medical use legalized
  4. Arkansas: medical use legalized
  5. California: legalized for medical and recreational use
  6. Colorado: legalized for medical and recreational use
  7. Connecticut: medical use legalized
  8. Delaware: medical use legalized
  9. DC: legalized for medical and recreational use
  10. Florida: medical use legalized
  11. Georgia: no broad legalization laws
  12. Hawaii: medical use legalized
  13. Idaho: no broad legalization laws
  14. Illinois: medical use legalized
  15. Indiana: no broad legalization laws
  16. Iowa: no broad legalization laws
  17. Kansas: no broad legalization laws
  18. Kentucky: no broad legalization laws
  19. Louisiana: medical use legalized but not in forms that can be smoked
  20. Maine: legalized for medical and recreational use
  21. Maryland: medical use legalized
  22. Massachusetts: legalized for medical and recreational use
  23. Michigan: medical use legalized
  24. Minnesota: medical use legalized
  25. Mississippi: no broad legalization laws
  26. Missouri: no broad legalization laws
  27. Montana: medical use legalized
  28. Nebraska: no broad legalization laws
  29. Nevada: legalized for medical and recreational use
  30. New Hampshire: medical use legalized
  31. New Jersey: medical use legalized
  32. New Mexico: medical use legalized
  33. New York: medical use legalized
  34. North Carolina: no broad legalization laws
  35. North Dakota: medical use legalized
  36. Ohio: medical use legalized
  37. Oklahoma: no broad legalization laws
  38. Oregon: legalized for medical and recreational use
  39. Pennsylvania: medical use legalized
  40. Rhode Island: medical use legalized
  41. South Carolina: no broad legalization laws
  42. South Dakota: no broad legalization laws
  43. Tennessee: no broad legalization laws
  44. Texas: no broad legalization laws
  45. Utah: no broad legalization laws
  46. Vermont: medical use legalized
  47. Virginia: no broad legalization laws
  48. Washington: legalized for medical and recreational use
  49. West Virginia: medical use legalized but only for cannabis-infused products
  50. Wisconsin: no broad legalization laws
  51. Wyoming: no broad legalization laws

Currently, five additional states are expected to legalize recreational marijuana by 2020: Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois, New Hampshire, and Vermont.

Check out our full list of country laws.

Marijuana Laws By State
5 (100%) 1 vote

Shane Dwyer
Author: Shane Dwyer
Shane Dwyer is a cannabis advocate who isn't afraid to tell the world about it! You can find his views, rants, and tips published regularly at The 420 Times.

Leave a Reply