Georgia was one of the earliest U.S. states to pass medical marijuana legislation in 1980. Yet, the southeastern state did little to enforce the law until the enactment of Senate Bill 16 in 2017. Also, adult-use cannabis is strictly banned and carries severe punitive measures.
The following passages will elaborate on the marijuana and CBD laws of Georgia.
Marijuana in Georgia
The Empire State of The South scorns adult-use marijuana and carrying two mere ounces can incarcerate you for up to 10 years. According to the findings of the American Civil Liberties Union, the state’s punitive measures are not only harsh but also racially disproportionate in their application. As per ACLU, despite whites and blacks consuming pot at an almost identical rate, the latter ethnicity is 3.7 times more vulnerable against a marijuana possession arrest than the former.
Yet, taxing pot by legalizing it can earn Georgia a projected $340 million in revenue.
The enactment of 2017 Senate Bill 16 and the subsequent approval of House Bill 65 streamlined the medical marijuana program in Georgia. These laws expanded the horizons of the program by including:
- Multiple sclerosis
- Seizure disorders
- Crohn’s disease
- Sickle cell anemia
- Epidermolysis bullosa (a skin condition)
- Tourette’s syndrome
- Intractable pain
- Peripheral neuropathy
However, there was a statewide embargo on growing, selling or transporting the herbs. All of which changed in March 2019 when the Georgia House approved the cultivation and distribution of weed to the registered individuals. Moreover, 60 dispensaries will be serving nearly 8,400 patients in the Peach State.
As of now, the House Bill 324 moves to the Senate and is expected to receive a favorable vote.
CBD Oil Laws in Georgia
Georgia’s Gov. Nathan Deal inked the Haleigh’s Hope Act in 2015 to legalize CBD across the state. After that, the 2017 House Bill 465 streamlined the system by establishing an Industrial Hemp Commission to govern a research program in partnership with local universities. The state has a registry system for CBD-qualified patients, but no way to obtain it. The procurement problems are expected to be over once HB 324 gets the Governor’s approval.
As of early 2019, you’re only allowed to consume CBD oil containing no more than 5% THC, and at least as much amount of CBD content. You can carry up to 20 oz. (fluid) of oil.
The state of Georgia scorns Mary Jane and possessing only two ounces will incarcerate you for up to a decade. Still, taxing weed can earn the Peach State a projected $340 million revenue. The state’s medical marijuana program received a major boost in March 2019, when the Georgia House approved the harvest and distribution of cannabis to the registered individuals. The bill is forwarded to the Senate and is expected to receive a favorable vote.
Lastly, the Empire State of The South only allows you to consume CBD oil containing no more than 5% THC, and at least as much amount of CBD content.