In 1875, California instituted the first known anti-narcotics law in the U.S., a San Francisco ordinance against opium dens. In 2018, the Golden State recorded recreational marijuana sales of $3.1 billion.
The following passages will elaborate on the marijuana and CBD laws of California.
Marijuana in California
At the onset of the 20th century, California was the most prominent crusader in the war on drugs. The most populous U.S. state banned cannabis in 1913 – decades before the 1937 Marihuana Tax Act was federally approved.
The legislation eased out in the new millennia, and since 2018, the consumption and trade of recreational weed is legal in California. The Adult Use of Marijuana Act came to fruition through a 57% voter approval and became law in November 2016. Today, California is the USA’s largest marijuana market and is projected to earn a monumental $7.6 billion in sales by 2022.
Californians are allowed to carry an ounce of weed for recreational needs, and can also grow up to six plants in their private residences. However, any amount above an ounce is penalized by 6 months of imprisonment and/or a $500 fine.
California has had some form of medicinal marijuana laws since the ‘90s, but until the formation of the Medicinal and Adult‐Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act – there was no state-level regulatory body. MAUCRSA is a unified regulatory system which governs the medicinal and recreational cannabis industry in the Golden State. It was created in 2017 through the integration of AUMA with MCRSA.
As per the ruling of the Supreme Court of California, there are no set out limits to patient-possession within the confines of a private residence, if the weed is only for the patient’s own consumption. The Medical Marijuana Program (MMP) of the California Department of Public Health is the registration card issuance authority. The 2018 year-end sales recorded a strong revenue of $294 million.
CBD Oil Laws in California
Ironically, U.S. states with adult-use marijuana regulations such as California are somewhat slow in launching their industrial hemp programs. In fact, the approval of Senate Bill 566 in 2013 primed the state for an industrial hemp revolution, but the 2016 passing of Proposition 64 neutralized much of the effectivity of the bill.
Nonetheless, the approval of Senate Bill 1409 in 2018 has commenced the pilot program, thereby enabling authorized cultivation of the crop. The California Health and Safety Code describes hemp as an oilseed crop restricted to the forms of the cannabis Sativa L plant, and not possessing more than 3/10th of 1% THC.
The consumption and sale of recreational weed is legal in California since 2018. Today, California is the United States’ grandest marijuana circuit and is slated to make $7.6 billion in sales by 2022. You’re legally allowed to carry and gift up to an ounce of weed.
The Golden State has a unified regulatory system to govern the medicinal and recreational cannabis industry and recorded a medical revenue of $294 million in 2018. Lastly, the approval of 2018 Senate Bill 1409 has launched the California industrial hemp pilot program.