In late-2018, Missouri became the 32nd U.S. state to legalize medical marijuana. Yet, the adult-use form is still illegal, though small possession is decriminalized.
The following passages will elaborate on the marijuana and CBD laws of Missouri.
Marijuana in Missouri
The Missouri flirtations with cannabis date back to the early 20th century when there was a countrywide drive to prohibit the crop. The Midwestern U.S. state not only banned all forms of marijuana but also enforced the harsh death penalty for anyone charged with pushing cannabis to minors. Moreover, anyone convicted of a second possession faced lifelong imprisonment.
Fast-forwarding to 2017 sees possession of up to 10 grams of adult-use cannabis being decriminalized for first-time offenders. However, the crop is still a Class D misdemeanor in Missouri and will slap you with a $500 fine, but no jail time. Also, if an intent to distribution is established, an ounce or so is enough to incarcerate you for four years with a $10,000 fine. The penalty is the same for trying to cultivate as much amount of weed.
Despite the ongoing wave to legalize marijuana in the USA, the Show-Me State is a no-show for Mary Jane in 2019.
Later in 2018, Missourians took the time to peruse three similar, yet very dissimilar medical marijuana measures (Proposition C, Amendment 2 and 3) to favor the one that made the most sense. Amendment 2 was passed by a whopping 65.5% margin, and with its approval, the right of state patients to legally obtain medical weed was officially enshrined in the Missouri constitution.
The law took effect in December and directed the Department of Health and Senior Services to start accepting applications for qualifying patients until July 2019. The physician-qualified patients are allowed to cure as many as 20 debilitating medical conditions with medical cannabis. The medical product will be taxed 4%, which will assist funding for veterans.
CBD Oil Laws in Missouri
The Missouri HB 2238 of 2014 allowed limited CBD access (at least 5% CBD, and no more than 0.3% THC) to qualified patients. Four years later, House Bill 2034 further amended the program to facilitate the cultivation, harvesting, and handling of industrial hemp. The bill also removed hemp from the definition of the controlled substances.
As of 2019, the Industrial Hemp Pilot Program is expected to become effective by July 30. Moreover, applications for cultivators and processors will be available online by September 2019.
Marijuana is a Class D misdemeanor in Missouri, and possessing a small amount will slap you with a $500 fine, but no jail time. If an intent to distribution is proven, an ounce or so is enough to imprison you for four years with a $10,000 fine. However, later in 2018, Missourians approved Amendment 2 by a staggering 65.5% margin to legalize medical weed. Lastly, the 2018 House Bill 2034 further amended the functional hemp program to facilitate the statewide cultivation, harvesting, and handling of industrial hemp.