Marijuana has been banned in the Heart of Dixie since 1931. Although the state of Alabama tried enacting a few of the earliest medicinal marijuana laws in the ’70s and ‘80s, their enforcement became difficult due to the illegal status of marijuana at the federal level.
The following passages will elaborate on the marijuana and CBD laws of Alabama.
Marijuana in Alabama
Take my word, and do not smoke or, God forbid hustle marijuana in the Yellowhammer State unless you want your redemption the Shawshank way. In Alabama, consuming cannabis for personal use is classified as a Class A Misdemeanor, carrying up to 1-year imprisonment and a $6,000 fine. A repeat occurrence will make it a Class C felony, penalized by a maximum prison sentence of 10 years and a $15,000 fine.
Nonetheless, according to a 2018 SPLC report, the law is disproportionately biased against the African-Americans, who are four times more at risk to be arrested for possession than a white person. In fact, the state outlays about $22 million on marijuana prohibition every year. The same can be used to fund 628 correctional officers, Medicaid to 86,000 children, 191 more preschool classrooms, and 571 additional K-12 teachers.
As of early 2019, the Cotton State is still waiting on a legislative vote on a fully-fledged medicinal marijuana program.
CBD Oil Laws in Alabama
In 2014, Carly’s Law became effective statewide. It was an affirmative defense against the consumption and possession of cannabidiol. The affirmative defense was bolsteredby the Leni’s Law, which enabled up to 3% THC extract for the patients as well as parent caregivers.
It also abolished the precondition of enrolling in the University of Alabama-Birmingham’s CBD research program. Also in 2016, Senate Bill 347 introduced The Alabama Industrial Hemp Research Act, which excluded CBD from the definition of cannabis.
However, even in 2019, it’s extremely tough to legally procure CBD across the state since there are no established provisions for either cultivation or distribution.
To qualify for CBD in this southeastern U.S. state, the residents must have a medical practitioner’s certificate with whom they maintain a bona-fide physician-patient relationship for a decisive condition immune to orthodox medicine. Moreover, the therapeutic or palliative relief gained from cannabidiol should heal the following ailments:
- Cachexia syndrome
- Intense nausea
- Relentless muscle spasms
- severe or chronic pain
- Any other medical condition which conventional medicine is unable to cure.
As of 2019, Alabama is still one of the most anti-marijuana U.S. states. The cost of smoking one joint is $6,000 and 12-months imprisonment. A repeat offense will incarcerate you for 10 years, apart from a $15,000 fine. However, voices are growing that the law is excessively prejudiced against the African-Americans.
Nonetheless, consuming CBD-based products was legalized in Alabama through Leni’s Law in 2016. It qualifies you for CBD containing up to 3% THC provided you have a medical certificate necessitating the medical requirement. Still, obtaining CBD legally is exceedingly difficult across the Yellowhammer state.