The history of marijuana in Rhode Island dates back to 1918 when this New England state first banned cannabis without a prescription.
The following passages will elaborate on the marijuana and CBD laws of Rhode Island.
Marijuana in Rhode Island
Earlier in 2019, as part of Article 20 of Gov. Raimondo’s Fiscal Year 2020 budget proposal, a plan to legitimize adult-use marijuana, and amend the state’s existing medical cannabis, and hemp laws were introduced. As of May, the legislative response to the plan is a mix-platter. The state’s legislative session will last till the end of June.
If approved, the retail sale can kick-off by early 2020, thereby enabling Rhode Islanders 21 and above to obtain and carry up to an ounce of dried cannabis from licensed retailers. However, home cultivation wouldn’t be permissible, and a 17% sales tax will be levied on the cannabis product. The industry optimists are forecasting a $122 million recreational sales in the Plantation State by the year 2022.
As of now, carrying up to 1 oz. of marijuana is a civil violation punishable by a $150 fine. Any amount above and 12-months imprisonment awaits you. More alarmingly, if the intent of distribution is established over at least a kilogram of weed, a sentence of 10 – 50 years is guaranteed.
The FY 2020 budget proposal of Gov. Raimondo includes amendments to Rhode Island’s medical cannabis program. The June 2019 Senate session is expected to witness a robust discussion on the proposed provisions.
The medicinal marijuana program of the Ocean State is operative is some form since 2006, and the latest bill launched proposes to increase the Compassion Centers from 3 to 12.
As of May 2019, the nearly 20,000 registered individuals can obtain 2.5 ounces of weed, and can also grow up to 12 mature plants. The state earned $80 million in medical sales in 2018, but the sales are expected to decline by 2022 ($69 million) due to them being eaten by the legalized recreational kind.
CBD Oil Laws in Rhode Island
The House Bill 8232 of Rhode Island statewide legalized the cultivation and commercial trade of industrial hemp in 2016. The bill also formed the Hemp Growth Act to classify the crop as an agricultural commodity. The law became effective 2017 onward.
As of May 2019, the state is preparing to enhance its hemp laws to take advantage of the U.S. Farm Bill of 2018.
A plan to legitimize adult-use marijuana, and amend the state’s existing medical cannabis and hemp laws have been introduced by the state Gov., which has received a mixed legislative response as of May 2019. As of now, carrying up to 1 oz. of marijuana is a civil violation punishable by a $150 fine. Any amount above and 12-months imprisonment awaits you.
The medicinal marijuana program of Little Rhody is operative since 2006, and the state earned $80 million in medical sales in 2018, but the sales are expected to decline by 2022 ($69 million) due to legalized recreational weed. Lastly, the state is actively preparing plans to enhance its hemp laws to take advantage of the U.S. Farm Bill of 2018.