Marijuana history in Nevada dates back to 1923 when this western state joined the national wave to prohibit all forms of cannabis.
The following passages will elaborate on the marijuana and CBD laws of Nevada.
Marijuana in Nevada
In November 2016, 55% of the Silver State voters said yes to Question 2, thereby legalizing recreational marijuana in Nevada. However, the crop is still classified under the Nevada Uniform Controlled Substances Act as a Schedule I hallucinogenic substance, and you’re only allowed to consume it in your residence.
A Nevadan, 21 or older, can obtain up to one ounce of marijuana only from a state-licensed dispensary or store. Any quantity exceeding 1 oz. will slap a $600 fine. Moreover, it is illegal to drive under the haze of pot in the Sagebrush State, as it puts you and others at risk. The state registered huge recreational sales of $317 million in 2018, while the estimation for 2022 is $615 million.
The Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health (DPBH) overseas a thriving medical marijuana program, which serves about 19,000 registered patients statewide.
In fact, the state residents approved Question 9 (Nevada Medical Marijuana Act) in 1998 to legalize medical marijuana. The amendment mandated approval in two successive elections, which the voters did by the margins of 59% and 65% in 1998 and 2000, respectively. The program is active since 2001 and allows you to possess up to 2.5 ounces of reusable weed. A state resident can also cultivate up to 12 plants.
The 2018 year-end medical sales generated $52 million, while the projection for 2022 is $38 million. The drop is expected due to adult-use cannabis cannibalizing the medical kind. Moreover, the enactment of Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act only gave retail licenses to the existing medical marijuana establishments until mid-2018, which escalated the recreational earnings of the state.
CBD Oil Laws in Nevada
The approval of 2015 Senate Bill 305 initiated restrictive plantation of industrial hemp as part of a pilot research program. Two years later, SB 396 further broadened the law to include commercial hemp cultivation in Nevada, which resulted in 1,881 acreages of cultivated hemp in 2018.
The Nevada Hemp Association is responsible for connecting farmers, researchers, investors, manufacturers, and policymakers to speed up the growth of the hemp, especially after the federal approval of Farm Bill 2018.
You can smoke pot in Nevada in a private residence. However, weed is still classified as a Schedule I hallucinogenic substance and carrying more than an ounce will cost you a $600 fine. The state registered staggering recreational sales of $317 million in 2018, while the projection for 2022 is $615 million.
The Nevada medical marijuana is active since 2001, and serves about 19,000 patients across the state, enabling them to obtain up to 2.5 ounces of reusable cannabis. Lastly, the Battle Born State cultivated 1,881 acreages of hemp in 2018.