Cannabis Laws in Connecticut

Once upon a time, it was illegal not to grow industrial hemp in the U.S. since the crop was so valuable for making clothes, sails, and ropes. However, after the WWII ended, the production of hemp also ceased in Connecticut, and elsewhere.

The following passages will elaborate on the marijuana and CBD laws of Connecticut.

Marijuana in Connecticut

You will be slapped with a $150 fine for carrying up to half an ounce of weed in the Land of Steady Habits. Any quantity above that and prison awaits you. Moreover, it’s evident that distributing or cultivating cannabis is a state felony, and carries up to 7-years imprisonment and $25,000 fine for possessing up to a kilogram of Mary Jane.

However, the status quo is changing for the better in 2019 with the elected Gov. Ned Lamont living up to his campaign promises of marijuana policy reform in Connecticut. According to the 89th Governor of the state:

“It’s an idea whose time has come, and I’m going to push it in the first year.”

The cannabis advocates claim that legalizing pot will add millions of dollars to the state’s coffers, besides generating thousands of jobs. In light of the progressive developments, the state is expected to earn $99 million in adult-use marijuana sales by 2022.

 

Medical Marijuana

Connecticut launched its medicinal marijuana program on June 1, 2012. Four years later, the state expanded the program by enabling minors participation, as long as not in a vaporizable, inhalable, or smokable form. Today, the Constitution State has a thriving medical dispensary system with more than 1,000 licensed practitioners, and over 30,000 registered patients. The program accommodates 8 qualifying conditions for minors, and 31 for adults.

The Connecticuters wishing to register for the medical marijuana card are required to obtain a written certificate from a licensed physician for a severe condition. The program is governed by the Connecticut Department Of Consumer Protection. The 2018 year-end medical sales amounted to $71 million, while the projection for 2022 is $103 million.

 

CBD Oil Laws in Connecticut

The Connecticut HB-5780 legalized the consumption of industrial hemp in 2015 by factoring out its fiber, seeds, and hemp stalks from the state definition of cannabis. Two years later, Senate Bill No. 603 streamlined the production of the crop, and by mid-2018, an agricultural pilot program commenced statewide.

More critically, the Farm Bill 2018 has incorporated parts of the 2018 Hemp Farming Act, thereby enabling Connecticut farmers to also benefit from the federal legislation. According to state experts, local farmers can realistically expect to make up to $100,000 per acre by cultivating and processing hemp seeds the right way.

 

Conclusion

Connecticut law will penalize you for carrying any amount of marijuana, but the status quo is changing rapidly. The newly elected Gov. Ned Lamont is living up to his campaign promises of marijuana policy reform by terming it an idea whose time is now. The state is slated to earn $99 million in adult-use marijuana sales by 2022.

The Provisions State has a booming medical dispensary system with the medical program accommodating 8 qualifying conditions for minors and 31 for adults. Lastly, the enactment of Farm Bill 2018 is expected to increase industrial hemp production in Connecticut multiple times.

 

Rate this post