The history of weed in Mississippi dates back to the ‘60s when the University of Mississippi (Ole Miss) launched the Marijuana Project, which is still the sole cannabis provider in the country for federally approved pot research.
The following passages will elaborate on the marijuana and CBD laws of Mississippi.
Marijuana in Mississippi
You’re not allowed to consume pot in the Magnolia State. Though possessing around an ounce (30 grams) is decriminalized, and only carries a small fine. However, a repeat offense will imprison you for up to 60 days. Also, if an intent to distribute the same quantity is established, you are looking at a 3 years jail time.
More critically, Mississippi’s marijuana law enforcement is racially-biased. As per the American Civil Liberties Union: whites and blacks use cannabis at a similar rate in this southern state, yet blacks are 3.9 times more at risk for a marijuana possession arrest. Ironically, the Hospitality State is host to the only U.S. government-owned marijuana farm at the University of Mississippi.
Mississippi’s medical cannabis program is extremely restrictive. A state resident must have a debilitative epileptic condition to qualify for the program, which only allows access to CBD oil carrying a minimum 15% CBD and a maximum 0.5% THC. Also, the only state-approved cannabis dispensing facility is at the University of Mississippi. Still, the Magnolia State registered medical sales of $39 million in 2018, while the estimation for 2022 is $101 million.
Later in 2018, Mississippians for Compassionate Care lodged a medical marijuana initiative at the U.S. Secretary of State’s Office to statewide legalize the crop. The group envisions to amend the state constitution in the 2020 ballot, for which they need 100,000 signatures to make it voting-eligible.
CBD Oil Laws in Mississippi
The House Bill 1231 of 2014, later named the Harper Grace’s Act, was signed by Gov. Bryant following a resounding 49-0 Senate vote. The law authorized three state-approved institutions to develop CBD-rich extracts, but there remained no easy way for patients to access these CBD extracts.
Nonetheless, the federal approval of Farm Bill 2018 is diametrically changing the CBD landscape across the Land of Uncle Sam. In this lieu, 2019 House Bill 625 was proposed in the State Regular Session. The act aimed to authorize the licensed cultivation and processing of industrial hemp to be governed by the Department of Agriculture and Commerce. However, it died in the Committee in February 2019.
You’re not allowed to consume pot in the Mississippi. Though possessing around 30 grams is decriminalized, and only carries a small fine. Conversely, a second offense will imprison you for up to 60 days. Moreover, Mississippi’s medical cannabis program is ultra-restrictive. Still, the Magnolia State registered medical sales of $39 million in 2018, while the estimation for 2022 is $101 million.
Lastly, the 2014 HB 1231 authorized three institutions to develop CBD-rich extracts, but access to CBD extracts remained a hassle. As of 2019, House Bill 625 is proposed in the State Regular Session to authorize the licensed cultivation and processing of industrial hemp.