As part of a significant trend of restricting marijuana in the early 20th century, Maine banned the drug in 1913. However, the crop is legal across the state in the twenty-first century.
The following passages will elaborate on the marijuana and CBD laws of Maine.
Marijuana in Maine
If you’re of legal drinking age in Maine, you’re also of legal cannabis age in the Pine Tree State. In 2016, Maine became one of the earliest East Coast states to legalize adult-use marijuana through a referendum. You’re allowed to carry 2.5 ounces of pot without any certificate, while private cultivation of three plants is also permissible. Still, the implementation is lagging for years primarily due to opposition from the then-Governor Paul LePage.
Nonetheless, the November 2018 election of Janet Mills as the 75th Gov. of Maine promises swift implementation action because the former Attorney General of Maine vowed to do so during her campaign. The Northeasternmost U.S. state is slated to earn a handsome $237 million in adult-use weed revenue by the year 2022.
The Maine medical cannabis program exists in some form since 1999. The approval of legislation (LD 1539) in 2018 enabled physicians to recommend weed to their patients for any medical condition. The bill became effective in December 2018. Today, there are nearly 60,000 registered patients across the state, who can also grow six cannabis plants in their private residences. The 2018 medical sales amounted to $59 million, but the recreational retail is set to cannibalize the medical sales by 2022, reducing its revenue down to $28 million.
CBD Oil Laws in Maine
The authorization of LD 1159 (Act) by the Maine Legislature in 2009 allowed state residents to grow industrial hemp and made the Bureau of Agriculture, Food and Rural Resources, the licensing authority. Six years later, the approval of LD 4 further expanded the program. Today, the adoption of Farm Bill 2018 is completely streamlining the hemp production, processing, and trade in the Pine Tree State.
Earlier in 2019, the Agriculture Committee of the Maine Legislature approved LD 630 to treat hemp-derived CBD, like food. Optimists are terming it the quickest way for the local farmers, processors, bakers, and retailers to grab the lucrative CBD market before the 2019 growing season goes out. Maine farmers can expect to earn around $16,000 to $200,000 per hemp acreage, subject to their production techniques, seed quality, and end market.
In 2016, Maine became one of the earliest East Coast states to legalize adult-use marijuana through a referendum. You’re allowed to carry 2.5 oz of weed and grow three plants for personal consumption. The Northeasternmost U.S. state is projected to earn $237 million in recreational weed sales by 2022. The Maine medical cannabis program exists in some form since 1999. Today, the program serves about 60,000 registered patients statewide.
Earlier in 2019, the Maine Legislature approved LD 630 to treat hemp-derived CBD, like food. Optimists are hoping the local farmers can earn around $16,000 to $200,000 per hemp acreage, subject to their production scale.