Marijuana Decriminalization Legislation Passes in Delaware The 420 Times Staff June 18, 2015 Best Of The Best, Exclusive Web Content, Featured, Politics, Recreational Cannabis, The United State Of WeedLegislation permitting adults to possess personal amounts of pot passed in Delaware and was signed by the state’s governor almost immediately after that.Said legislation, which officially takes hold six months from now, will decriminalize the possession of up to an ounce of the good-good for those age 21 and older. If your caught holding your stash of 28 grams or less you would be subjected to a civil offense punishable by a fine of $100, rather than charged with a crime.Possession of any amount of pot will remain a criminal offense for individuals age 18 or under. But a strange article of the newly inked law will make a first offense result in a civil penalty for those folks ages 18 to 21, while any succeeding wrongdoing would be a misdemeanor.And as far as when and where it’s okay to spark up a spliff in public, let’s just say you might want to be sure you’re at least 11 feet away from any streets, sidewalks or other areas commonly available to the community.And why is that exactly?Well, due to the fact that the legislation in question states that anyone caught enjoying a puff of the sticky stuff within 10 feet of the aforementioned areas will be charged with a misdemeanor liable to be punished by a fine of up to $200 and up to five days behind bars.Delaware’s decision to lighten up on those that choose to light up is great, but what about the children? Isn’t anyone concerned about the youth residing in The Diamond State? Bueller? Fry?“This is a bill we’re going to regret,” Delaware Senator Colin Bonini avowed. “The message we’re sending young people is one we simply should not send.”Oy. Leave a Reply Cancel ReplyYou must be logged in to post a comment.